Calendar & Readings

Unit 1: Rhetorical Analysis

Date Readings/Assignments
Tues, Aug 28 Syllabus, Introductions
Thurs, Aug 30 “How to Read Like a Writer”
Handout: Writerly Questions to Ask While Reading
Tues, Sept 4
(Group A)
“Monster Culture” Thesis I
Thurs, Sept 6
(Group B)
“Monster Culture” Thesis II
Tues, Sept 11 NO CLASS
Thurs, Sept 13
(Group C)
“Monster Culture” Theses III + IV
Tues, Sept 18
NO CLASS
Thurs, Sept 20
(Group D)
Summarizing, Introductions, and Rhetorical Strategies –
PRELIMINARY DRAFT DUE
Handout: Rhetorical Patterns and Literary Devices
Intro Paragraphs
Tues, Sept 25
(Group A)
Effective Body Paragraphs
Thurs, Sept 27
(Group B)
Effective ThesesFORMAL DRAFT DUE FRIDAY, 9/28

 

Unit 2: Lens Analysis

Date Readings/Assignments
Tues, Oct 2
(Group C)
“Monster Culture” Theses V, VI, VII
Handouts: Basic MLA Formatting
Linking Evidence and Claims
Thurs, Oct 4
(Group D)
Final review of “Monster Culture” and Essay 1

FINAL DRAFT ESSAY 1 DUE MONDAY 10/8

Tues, Oct 9
(Group A)
Visual Analysis and Functions of Sources
Handout: Functions of Sources
Thurs, Oct 11
(Group B)
Masters of Desire, Lens Analysis
Handout: Visual and Lens Analysis
Tues, Oct 16
(Group C)
Ads, Fads, and Consumer Culture (pages 1-19)
Thurs, Oct 18
(Group D)
Ads, Fads, and Consumer Culture (pages 20-31)
Tues, Oct 23
(Group A)
Sample Student Response and Outlining
Thurs, Oct 25
(Group B)
Making a Thesis EvolvePRELIMINARY DRAFT DUE
Tues, Oct 30
(Group C)
Pan, Track, and Zoom method of analysis
Thurs, Nov 1
(Group D)
Integrating Sources and MLA CitationFORMAL DRAFT DUE 11/3

 

Unit 3: Researched Arguments

Date Readings/Assignment
Tues, Nov 6
(Group A)
“Donald Trump and Freshman Essays”
Library Visit
Thurs, Nov 8
(Group B)
Engaging Sources
Breaking Into the ConversationFINAL DRAFT ESSAY 2 DUE SUNDAY 11/11 @ 11:59 PM
Tues, Nov 13
(Group C)
Functions of Sources, Pan’s Labyrinth
Video: Guillermo Del Toro on Monsters as Metaphors
Thurs, Nov 15
(Group D)
Pan’s Labyrinth
Starting With What Others are Saying
Video: Pan’s Labyrinth Crash Course Film Criticism
Tues, Nov 20 Intellectual ProblemsPRELIMINARY DRAFT DUE
Thurs, Nov 22 NO CLASS
Tues, Nov 27 Individual Conferences
Thurs, Nov 29 Individual Conferences
Tues, Dec 4 Motivating Your Argument
Sample Student Research Paper  – FORMAL DRAFT DUE WED 12/5
Thurs, Dec 6 Coherent Argumentation in Sample Student Research Paper
Tues, Dec 11 LAST DAY OF CLASS
  FINAL DRAFT ESSAY 3 DUE FRIDAY 12/21
Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Spam prevention powered by Akismet

Skip to toolbar